User Tools

Site Tools


summoner

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
summoner [2020/10/16 12:38]
kyle
summoner [2020/11/19 13:23] (current)
kyle
Line 3: Line 3:
 //I've already asked the audience, so I'd like to call a friend.// //I've already asked the audience, so I'd like to call a friend.//
  
-Summoners have the ability to contract with creatures from different universes and call upon them when in need. While the class's mechanical benefits will hinge heavily on the capabilities of the creatures contracted with and judicious decisions about which situations they should be summoned into, making those contracts in the first place is essentially a business agreement and multiclassing as a [[Negotiator]] might not be a bad idea.+Summoners have the ability to contract with creatures from different universes and call upon them when in need. While the archetype's mechanical benefits will hinge heavily on the capabilities of the creatures contracted with and judicious decisions about which situations they should be summoned into, making those contracts in the first place is essentially a business agreement and taking levels as a [[Negotiator]] might not be a bad idea.
  
 ^[[#Summoner]] ^^Conjure otherworldly beings. | ^[[#Summoner]] ^^Conjure otherworldly beings. |
Line 20: Line 20:
 ^{{ra>eye-shield?48|Protection}} ||{{fa>plus-circle?24&align=left}}**Magic Circle:** Whenever you summon a Beyonder spirit, they are bound in the spot you summoned them to. Bound spirits cannot leave or take any actions other than talking with you. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Communication Barrier:** Beyonders won't necessarily always share a language with you. You'll have to figure out your own way to communicate with them. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Scuffed Pentagram:** You can only bind a spirit if its level is equal to or less than your own. Beyonders whose level exceeds your own are free to do whatever they want, possibly including taking vengeance on you. Knowing an individual spirit's summoning ritual does not give you any special foreknowledge of what its level is; be careful not to conjure up anything you cannot put down. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Mad As Hell:** A trapped Beyonder's current Stress is added to its actual level for purposes of its effective bindability. Leaving a trapped demon to starve for a few days might make it more pliable, but also might give it the power needed to escape. \\ \\ {{fa>plus-circle?24&align=left}}**Controls:** You can choose to dismiss or free any Beyonder you've trapped as an action so long as you're in the same node. Dismissing them sends them immediately back to their home universe, while freeing them lets them do whatever they want. Anybody else can also free a trapped Beyonder by messing up your binding ritual (by scuffing a gap into the circle they're standing on, removing your sealing papers, pulling out your sacred arrow, etc). \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Off The Chain:** Attacking a trapped Beyonder immediately sets them loose. | ^{{ra>eye-shield?48|Protection}} ||{{fa>plus-circle?24&align=left}}**Magic Circle:** Whenever you summon a Beyonder spirit, they are bound in the spot you summoned them to. Bound spirits cannot leave or take any actions other than talking with you. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Communication Barrier:** Beyonders won't necessarily always share a language with you. You'll have to figure out your own way to communicate with them. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Scuffed Pentagram:** You can only bind a spirit if its level is equal to or less than your own. Beyonders whose level exceeds your own are free to do whatever they want, possibly including taking vengeance on you. Knowing an individual spirit's summoning ritual does not give you any special foreknowledge of what its level is; be careful not to conjure up anything you cannot put down. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Mad As Hell:** A trapped Beyonder's current Stress is added to its actual level for purposes of its effective bindability. Leaving a trapped demon to starve for a few days might make it more pliable, but also might give it the power needed to escape. \\ \\ {{fa>plus-circle?24&align=left}}**Controls:** You can choose to dismiss or free any Beyonder you've trapped as an action so long as you're in the same node. Dismissing them sends them immediately back to their home universe, while freeing them lets them do whatever they want. Anybody else can also free a trapped Beyonder by messing up your binding ritual (by scuffing a gap into the circle they're standing on, removing your sealing papers, pulling out your sacred arrow, etc). \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Off The Chain:** Attacking a trapped Beyonder immediately sets them loose. |
 ^ ^^^ ^ ^^^
-^{{ra>gear-hammer?48|Utility}} ||{{fa>plus-circle?24&align=left}}**Contract:** You can create a contract with a willing Beyonder. This allows you to summon them quicker and with a much greater degree of control (see below). \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**You Couldn't Handle It:** You cannot contract with any Beyonder whose level is higher than your own. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Heavy Price:** Creating a contract with a willing Beyonder costs an amount of Dosh equal to the Beyonder's level. \\ \\ {{fa>plus-circle?24&align=left}}**The Key and Sceptre:** A single summoner may contract with as many Beyonders as they wish. A Beyonder may only contract with a single Summoner at a time. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Sundered Terms:** A Beyonder can choose to terminate their contract with you at any time they want. This refunds the Dosh used to create the contract back to you. If a Beyonder is killed while in your service, this also breaks the contract but does not refund your Dosh. Beyonder death will break the contract regardless of whether the Beyonder in question has a way to come back from the dead afterwards (such as the Avatar ability from the [[Spirit]] class); if they don't hate you now, you could always ask for a new contract. |+^{{ra>gear-hammer?48|Utility}} ||{{fa>plus-circle?24&align=left}}**Contract:** You can create a contract with a willing Beyonder. This allows you to summon them quicker and with a much greater degree of control (see below). \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**You Couldn't Handle It:** You cannot contract with any Beyonder whose level is higher than your own. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Heavy Price:** Creating a contract with a willing Beyonder costs an amount of Dosh equal to the Beyonder's level. \\ \\ {{fa>plus-circle?24&align=left}}**The Key and Sceptre:** A single summoner may contract with as many Beyonders as they wish. A Beyonder may only contract with a single Summoner at a time. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Sundered Terms:** A Beyonder can choose to terminate their contract with you at any time they want. This refunds the Dosh used to create the contract back to you. If a Beyonder is killed while in your service, this also breaks the contract but does not refund your Dosh. Beyonder death will break the contract regardless of whether the Beyonder in question has a way to come back from the dead afterwards (such as the Avatar ability from the [[Spirit]] archetype); if they don't hate you now, you could always ask for a new contract. |
 ^ ^^^ ^ ^^^
 ^{{ra>gear-hammer?48|Utility}} ||{{fa>plus-circle?24&align=left}}**Improved Summoning:** You can summon any Beyonder you've contracted with into any adjacent space as a single action instead of a full procedure, and you can control their actions directly until they are automatically dismissed back to their home universe at the end of the current exploration turn. At your option, you can also choose to dismiss them (or have them dismiss themselves) early as an action. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Incompatible Resources:** Resources (Provisions, Supplies, Mojo) held by a summoned creature cannot be given away directly, although a summoned creature can freely use them to power its own abilities as you direct. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Single Walker:** No matter how many different Beyonders you've created contracts with, you can only have one actively summoned at a time. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Ontological Inertia:** A Beyonder is not healed or re-supplied between summonings. If they got hurt and used up some of their resources the last time they were summoned, they are still hurt and depleted if you summon them again later on during the same session. Contracted Beyonders are completely healed and re-filled between sessions so long as they don't die. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Supplies:** Summoning a contracted Beyonder costs 1 Supplies. | ^{{ra>gear-hammer?48|Utility}} ||{{fa>plus-circle?24&align=left}}**Improved Summoning:** You can summon any Beyonder you've contracted with into any adjacent space as a single action instead of a full procedure, and you can control their actions directly until they are automatically dismissed back to their home universe at the end of the current exploration turn. At your option, you can also choose to dismiss them (or have them dismiss themselves) early as an action. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Incompatible Resources:** Resources (Provisions, Supplies, Mojo) held by a summoned creature cannot be given away directly, although a summoned creature can freely use them to power its own abilities as you direct. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Single Walker:** No matter how many different Beyonders you've created contracts with, you can only have one actively summoned at a time. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Ontological Inertia:** A Beyonder is not healed or re-supplied between summonings. If they got hurt and used up some of their resources the last time they were summoned, they are still hurt and depleted if you summon them again later on during the same session. Contracted Beyonders are completely healed and re-filled between sessions so long as they don't die. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Supplies:** Summoning a contracted Beyonder costs 1 Supplies. |
Line 75: Line 75:
 ^{{ra>eye-shield?48|Protection}} ||{{fa>plus-circle?24&align=left}}**Workman's Comp:** You've added powerful protection clauses to your contracts. If one of your summoned creatures dies in your service, they do not die or suffer any permanent consequence and the contract is not automatically broken. Knowing this ability also makes contracting with you a more attractive proposition, for obvious reasons. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Mandatory Vacation Time:** If one of your summons "dies", they become unavailable until the end of the current session in order to take the time to recuperate. | ^{{ra>eye-shield?48|Protection}} ||{{fa>plus-circle?24&align=left}}**Workman's Comp:** You've added powerful protection clauses to your contracts. If one of your summoned creatures dies in your service, they do not die or suffer any permanent consequence and the contract is not automatically broken. Knowing this ability also makes contracting with you a more attractive proposition, for obvious reasons. \\ \\ {{fa>minus-circle?24&align=left}}**Mandatory Vacation Time:** If one of your summons "dies", they become unavailable until the end of the current session in order to take the time to recuperate. |
 ^ ^^^ ^ ^^^
-^{{ra>gear-hammer?48|Utility}} ||{{fa>plus-circle?24&align=left}}**Evolution:** Being summoned by you vastly expands the knowledge and experience of your subjects. Every time you summon a creature whose level is lower than your own, roll a trigger die. If the result is 12, then that creature immediately and permanently gains a level. You can choose what new class/ability your summoned creature learns and which of their resource counts/combat ratings are improved (with referee approval). |+^{{ra>gear-hammer?48|Utility}} ||{{fa>plus-circle?24&align=left}}**Evolution:** Being summoned by you vastly expands the knowledge and experience of your subjects. Every time you summon a creature whose level is lower than your own, roll a trigger die. If the result is 12, then that creature immediately and permanently gains a level. You can choose what new archetype/ability your summoned creature learns and which of their resource counts/combat ratings are improved (with referee approval). |
 ^ ^^^ ^ ^^^
  
summoner.1602873513.txt.gz ยท Last modified: 2020/10/16 12:38 by kyle